What to love about the Nexus 7

image

Now despite my bitter fate with getting the Nexus 7, there’s a handful of things I love about it–enough reasons why I could consider it worth it.

I recently got my matte screen protector replaced. And boy was I surprised what kind of beauty was I hiding underneath the grainy old ones. As expected, it is now a finger print magnet but believe me it is a more worthy sacrifice than compromising the screen quality.

Now in terms of performance, it certainly justifies the QUAD-CORE 1.5 Ghz processor and 12-CORE GPU. My favorite games, Asphalt 7 and The Bard’s Tale runs smoothly and the graphics are rendered pretty good.

Transitions when navigating in apps are buttery-smooth (thanks to project butter). Switching between apps is really impressive. I tried switching back and forth from the browser to my games, to my homescreen, everything is fluid!

The on-screen buttons is something I had to get used to. I wasn’t accustomed having the multi-tasking button on my right. Never had that on my iPhone neither on the S3. It shouldn’t be any trouble, anyhow.

The position of the physical buttons doesn’t look like it’s well thought off. Placing them side-by-side may not be a really good idea. I often get the lock button mistaken for the volume, which is quite a bummer if happens a lot of times when you’re watching videos. Anyway, that could just be me, so, that should be fine. Lol.

Probably the best thing about the Nexus 7 is the size. It fits snuggly into my everyday-office-bag. It is very easy to type with with both hands or with one hand when using gesture typing (which is a really useful addition to Jellybean).

I usually tend to abuse it with the most high-requirement apps just to make the most of it.

Next up, I will be posting my most-loved Android Apps.

Kung Hei Fat Choi! 🙂

Leave a Reply

